RSS

Super Dee

01 Oct

September 6, 2012.

Dear Sirs/madam,

I write you this letter to say a few things.  For those who did not realize, yes today is my birthday.  Yep, I’m 40.  Yes yes I know I look more like a 30 year old but it’s okay I really am 40.  So as they say a life span is four score and ten (70 years) . By my calculation that makes me over the hill.  I have lived more than I will live.  Hmm I have lived 57% of my life. In my opinion I have gotten way more than I have deserved.  First and foremost I give thanks to my kids.  They are my foundation.  From my eldest Miss D, yep is you who has grounded me.  To my youngest Xion, is you mek mi know dat mi still young. I won’t say much more in this blog post about my kids but I must say this.  My kids are my driving force now more than ever and I aspire to be a father that they can tip their hat to, even though the “situation” is not ideal.  Enough said.

So back to being 40. I thought it was gonna be just another day.  Well it is not.  I’m 40.  However I look on it, it is a milestone.  There are many many things that I have done in my life that should have given me a quick trip to the grave.  From the fast cars, faster women, planes, trains and automobiles. Hmm should I share a story or two to illustrate.  Err Not! So let me look on 40. What does it exactly mean. I checked Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/40_(number)  and I found something that intrigued me. It is said that in order to understand a people, you must live among them for 40 days. ~Arabic proverb [1][2]. Wow that says a lot. It begs the question… Do I know my people?  The answer is a resounding no. However with that said I am getting to know them a little better.

The one thing that I have discovered is that most people I have encountered play social chess.  It’s all about the moves, not just today but 5, six, 10 moves ahead.  Guess what? I can’t subscribe to that, it is just far too mentally consuming. So what are my words of wisdom at forty? I’m not really sure.  I can tell you what it is not. It ain’t no ancient proverb.  Nor is it something from Sun Tzu.  Simply put it is, moderation in everything. Drink a little, laugh a little, cry a little, fight a little, and read a little. Sometimes I have not taken my own advice but cho, a suh it go.

In closing, even though this birthday post is late I just want to let everyone know that I have decided (actually decided years ago) to move my birthday to a date that is more to my liking.  That date is April 1.  Therefore, as far as I am concerned I am not yet 40.  I will attain that milestone on the aforementioned date.

Ok my list of what is on my mind will be kinda a little throw back:

My final words are this I have lived my life with no regrets, I have lived loved and failed many times. With that said hugs to all my enemies and cheers to all mi friends.

Regards

 

 

Jamaican Z

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
